About The Futures League

Each FCBL club must contain a minimim of 26 players. Of those 26 players, 13 must reside in New England or attend a New England College or University. The college or university can be a 4 or 2 year school. The rest of the roaster can be a mix of any player attending a 4 or 2 year college or university within the United States, Puerto Rico, Canada or a Commissioner approved school outside the locations listed ("New England Rule"). There is a roster maximum of 30 players for each club. 


    Playoff Format

Each team will play a 56-game regular season schedule and is slated to play 28 at home and 28 away. The regular season will run from Wednesday, June 4 until Friday, August 8 immediately followed by the playoffs.

The 2014 FCBL playoffs will feature six teams in a three-round format.

The winner of each division will have a bye in round one.

The next four teams with the best overall record will be in a winner take all play-in game.

The play-in games will be between the #3 and #6 seed, and the #4 and #5 seed. Teams will be seeded 1 through 6 based on over-all records.

Round two will feature a 3-game series between the league’s #1 seed and the lowest remaining seed from round one, and between the league’s #2 seed and the highest remaining seed from round one.

The FCBL championship will be determined by a final 3-game series between the two teams who won their semi-final round.

All tie-breakers for seeding purposes will be determined as follows:

  1. Head to head record between the tied teams

  2. Best overall winning percentage against the other 5 teams who qualified for the playoffs

  3. Coin Toss